

Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability

REGULAR MEETING MINUTES

December 14, 2022, 1:30 P.M. 840 Research Parkway, Suite 504 Oklahoma City, OK 73104

COMMISSION MEMBERS PRESENT: Dr. Joanna Lein, Kenneth Parker, Kathryn Szallar,

John Daniel

COMMISSION MEMBERS ABSENT: Secretary Ryan Walters, Katie Nations

OTHER REGULAR ATTENDEES: Office of Educational Quality and Accountability

Staff: Renée Launey-Rodolf, Jennifer Gambrell, Abby Murphey, Jerry Shay, Angie Bookout, Lecrecia Schmidt, David Kurt, and Ashley Poole

VISITORS: Dr. Kathren Stehno-Southwestern Christian

University, Dr. Adrian Hinkle- Southwestern Christian University, Julie Ely- Southwestern Christian University, Dr. David Roman-

Southwestern Christian University, Dr. Toni Ivey-Oklahoma State University, Sidney Lee-Quorum Call, Jess Tucker-Oklahoma State Regents for

Higher Education

Call to Order: Dr. Joanna Lein called the meeting to order at 1:38 p.m.

Introduction of Commission Members and Roll Call: Dr. Lein asked for the roll call to be taken. Three Commission members were present. Mr. Parker entered at 1:40 p.m. Four Commission members were now present, and it was established that a quorum existed.

Welcome from Mrs. Renee Launey-Rodolf: Mrs. Launey-Rodolf, OEQA Interim Executive Director, welcomed everyone to the meeting.

Presentation and Discussion: Continued State Accreditation for Oklahoma State University: Mrs. Launey-Rodolf spoke about the accreditation visit for Oklahoma State University. Dr. Toni Ivey spoke about the changes being made to address an issue found during

the visit. Dr. Ivey and Mrs. Launey-Rodolf answered questions asked by the commissioners. Dr. Lein made a motion to continue state accreditation of Oklahoma State University for 7 years. Mr. Parker seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel:approveMs. Nations:absentDr. Lein:approveMr. Parker:approveSecretary Walters:absentMs. Szallar:approve

Presentation and Discussion: Approval of New Educator Preparation Program-Vocal/General Music for Southwestern Christian University: Mrs. Angie Bookout spoke about the process for universities to start new Educator Preparation Programs. Dr. Kathren Stehno introduced the faculty members joining her and turned the presentation over to Professor Julie Ely. Prof. Ely spoke about the need for a Vocal/General Music EPP at Southwestern Christian University and answered questions from the commissioners about projections. Dr. Lein made a motion to approve a Vocal/General Music Educator Preparation Program for Southwestern Christian University. Ms. Szallar seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel:approveMs. Nations:absentDr. Lein:approveMr. Parker:approveSecretary Walters:absentMs. Szallar:approve

Approval of Minutes from the October 19, 2022 Commission Meeting: Dr. Lein made a motion to approve the minutes of the October 19, 2022 Commission meeting as submitted. Mr. Parker seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel:approveMs. Nations:absentDr. Lein:approveMr. Parker:approveSecretary Walters:absentMs. Szallar:approve

Program Updates: David Kurt spoke about the progress of the transfer audits under SB 783. Angie Bookout spoke about school performance reviews, telling the Commission about the current progress being made with Marietta and Lone Wolf. Jennifer Gambrell spoke about progress being made on a pilot mentoring program authorized by SB 1631. She said that so far 22 mentors have gone through the training and are currently meeting with teachers. She then spoke about test fee waivers, telling the Commission that OEQA was able to give out over 500 test fee waivers. She then spoke about the progress of candidates going through the National Board certification process. Renee Launey-Rodolf then spoke about upcoming accreditation visits for University of Central Oklahoma, Oklahoma Wesleyan University, and Randall University. She then informed the Commission that seven certification tests are going through

New Business: None.	
Announcements: None	
	inutes of the December 14, 2022 regular meeting of and Accountability were approved (circle one)
as submitted	with corrections
on February 15, 2023.	
Signed:	
Secretary Ryan Walters	Mrs. Renee Launey-Rodolf,
	OEQA Interim Executive Director

redevelopment and launching in 2023: Art, Biology, Chemistry, Middle Level Mathematics, Library-Media Specialist, Physical Education/Health/Safety, and Reading Specialist. Mrs.

Launey-Rodolf then spoke about the CEQA meeting dates for 2023.